top of page
  • Writer's pictureRandi Maguire

REVIEW POST- Carrie by Stephen King

Updated: Mar 3, 2020

Sorry is the Kool-Aid of human emotions. It's what you say when you spill a cup of coffee or throw a gutter ball when you're bowling with the girls in the league. True sorrow is as rare as true love.

Started January 8th 2020- Finished January 12th 2020 Horror

290 pages

Synopsis:

Carrie knew she should not use the terrifying power she possessed... But one night after senior prom, Carrie was scorned and humiliated just one time too many, and in a fit of uncontrollable fury she turned her clandestine game into a weapon of horror and destruction...

 

I am going to start this review by explaining this was actually my first ever Stephen King book read ever! I know right? I’m super behind the ball on this. I heard that King had created a whole universe within his written works; by this I mean he reuses characters, towns, states and what not. This is super exciting to me! Naturally, I went and did a bunch of research into this and discovered that the best way to become fully immersed and to fully understand and appreciate the King universe is to read his books in chronological order. Makes sense why I started with Carrie now right? Since it was his first book!


Now that I’ve read my first Stephen King book, I’m just going to go on record and say that I am EXTREMELY disappointed with myself for waiting 25 years to read his books. I could’ve been reading and enjoying these spookily fantastic books for my whole life and I sat around not reading them for absolutely no good reason. I. Am. Ashamed.


Let’s talk about our main character now: Carrie White. An outcast in this book for the simple reasons of overwhelming love of faith, a crazy mother, and a weird way of dressing. She blooms late in the book and gets her period for the first time in the gym class showers which makes her the laughing stock and point of bullying. The way she is treated in this moment was disgusting and jaw dropping. You can certainly tell that there has been 46 years that has passed between now and when the book was published because bullying to that degree is almost unheard of. Making fun of other students doesn’t make you the popular kid now, it is social suicide. Rather, being friends with everyone and kind to everyone makes you “popular”. I’m glad to say that the stance for bullying has changed a lot since the time that this book was written.


I’ve never actually watched the movie so I only knew about the prom plot where Carrie was

blood dumped. I was unaware about the rampage that she sets herself on afterwards. That part was SUPER intense and blew me away. Carrie was badass and her turmoil was definitely justified. Carrie’s telekinesis is so powerful it was honestly mind blowing.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page