top of page
  • Writer's pictureRandi Maguire

REVIEW POST-The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

Updated: Mar 3, 2020

“Strange, isn’t it? To love a book. When the words on the pages become so precious that they feel like part of your own history because they are. It’s nice to finally have someone read stories I know so intimately.”

Ever since reading The Night Circus, I knew I was in love with Erin’s writing style and that I needed more of her literary creations. When I heard about The Starless Sea, I had to preorder it and have it immediately!


“You wish to sail the Starless Sea and breathe the haunted air”

This is a book that I genuinely took my time reading and absorbing. The amount of detail and intricacies that went into this book is absolutely astonishing. It felt like inception but in book form. The way the stories weave within and amongst each other is perfection and a masterpiece.


Zachary Ezra Rawlins and the Main Story Line

He is such a relatable character, which makes reading this story even more enjoyable. He is this book and video game nerd that quotes literature! Hello, it’s me! I loved the tempting and heartwarming love of Dorian and Zachary. I found myself constantly craving more from them.


The Secondary and Tertiary Story Lines


The Starless Sea is about way more than just Zachary, Dorian, Kat, and Mirabel. Woven amongst the main story line are books about metaphorical pirates, The Moon and her lover, Fate and Time, owls and bees, and the cycle of beginning and endings. They are beautifully woven and intricately placed in a way that the reader has to puzzle and analyze the content. I'm still mind boggled by the beauty of the text.


Future Works

From what I understand, Erin crafted The Night Circus to embody the season Autumn. She crafted The Starless Sea to embody the season of Winter. Her next book will capture the season of Spring and I am already dying to read it and ready to preorder this one as well.

 

Preordered from Indigo books.

Started December 9th 2019- finished December 19th 2019.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page