top of page
  • Writer's pictureRandi Maguire

BLOG POST- February TBR

Updated: Mar 3, 2020


Hey ghoulies!

We are finally at a new month. After a year long January, am I right? lol. In all seriousness, January dragged unbelievably and wasn't the best way to enter the 20's. Let's hope that February roars harder!


Last month's TBR totally threw me right into a slump and I could NOT get out of it. It ruined my whole month. So I purged. I left a bunch of buddy read groups (not like the books I was voting for were getting picked anyways). I'm saying screw it! I'm only reading books I really want to read. I'm using this purge of my TBR to 1. focus on my backlogged books; and 2. saving these slots for publishers so I can expand my page!


There are a few books I would like to get to this month, but I want to stress this point that it is NOT a TBR. It's a I'll read when I get the chance, and maybe I'll even read them next month. Let's see these bad boys:

 

Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas (Book 3 of the Throne of Glass series)

Young adult fantasy

565 pages

Synopsis:

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth...a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.


Why I'm Reading This Book:

I read Crown of Midnight (Book 2) last year and loved the absolute shit outta it last year and then never continued on with the series due to being swamped with school and all those dang buddy reads. When I got into that nasty slump last month, I decided to pick up this book in hopes that it will help me get out of it. I made it about halfway through in January since I don't have a lot of reading time lately but it's definitely gotten me out of my slump!! WOOT WOOT!

 

If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio

Mystery

432 pages

Synopsis:

Oliver Marks has just served ten years for a murder he may or may not have committed. On the day of his release, he is greeted by the detective who put him in prison. Detective Colborne is retiring, and he wants to know what really happened a decade before.

As a young actor at an elite conservatory, Oliver noticed that his talented classmates seem to play the same characters onstage and off – villain, hero, temptress – though he was always a supporting role. But when the teachers change the casting, a good-natured rivalry turns ugly, and the plays spill dangerously over into real life.

When tragedy strikes, one of the seven friends is found dead. The rest face their greatest acting challenge yet: convincing the police, and themselves, that they are blameless...


Why I'm Reading This Book:

I won this book from a giveaway from Jack (@jthbooks) during the summer. I have been eager to read it even before I won the book.

Kas (@ladyofstardust) has organized a February through March read-a-long of this book which I just HAD to participate in. Even though I am not a huge Shakespeare fan, this book has been said to be amazing regardless. I can't wait to read share my thoughts on this one!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page